Things I thought I’d never do: Be interviewed on TV

Before I started working at the library, I had somewhat of an idea of what the job would entail.  I pictured myself helping patrons locate materials and then checking those materials out.  I thought about shelving, organizing, and building the library’s collection.

Almost 4 years later, this is a true representation of my job, but it’s definitely not the whole story.  There have definitely been some unexpected responsibilities…but these are often the most memorable and fun.

For example, today I was interviewed on Channel 5.  Ellsworth Public Library is hosting a 5k “color run” to benefit the library and we are looking for a name.  For me, it was definitely nerve-racking to be interviewed, but it was a good experience and at least I know what it’s like.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about these “out-of-the-blue” things that happen in a librarian’s day. Next Monday I’ll share a few more unexpected job responsibilities for librarians, but in the meantime, I’d love to hear what you have to say about this topic in the comments!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Things I thought I’d never do: Be interviewed on TV

  1. Cathy

    Awesome !!! Thinking I need to start training.

  2. I LOVE “out-of-the-blue” experiences. Put on a great smile and engage and enchant. You’ll hook new readers and new followers on this blog. Great news.

Leave a Reply

