Hello world!

Way back in January, I posted about my acceptance to Rutgers.  I’ve had a great semester so far, but needless to say, classes are taking up a good chunk of the hours in my day when I’m not sleeping or at work.  Unfortunately, my blog has gone by the wayside, and I hope to bring blogging back into my life.

Maine is being hit with a massive, “don’t even think about leaving the house” type of snowstorm (and I thought it was supposed to be spring??)  So, no work today (except for homework).  I thought this would be a good opportunity to get back to the blog.

To get back into the swing of things, here’s my WWW Wednesday (hosted by Should be Reading)

What are you currently reading?

I am close to finishing Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.  It took me a little while to get into this one, but now I’m hooked!  Nailer struggles to get by each day by stripping old ships of copper.  When he meets a rich girl who needs help, will he risk his dismal life for a chance at something better?  The book is very well-written.  Bacigalupi creates cinematic scenes…this would be a great movie adaptation.

What did you recently finish reading?

I recently finished Little Brother by Cory Doctorow.  Marcus uses his hacking skills to work around the system (usually to sneak out of school).  When he and his friends are caught in the wrong place at the wrong time, he is wrongly accused of terrorism and then must use his skills to get revenge and save his friend. Not really my cup of tea, to be honest, but it did raise some interesting questions about freedom of information and how technology will shape the future.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Next on my list for school is Bomb by Steve Sheinkin.  However, Karen Russell just released a Kindle novella entitled Sleep Donation.  It’s about a world where people have insomnia and others have the option of donating sleep to them…I’m sure this is an oversimplification, but that’s what I gleaned from the description.  I can’t think of a better way to spend a snowy afternoon than curled up reading something Karen Russell wrote!

Also, if you are looking for book reviews, program recaps, and awesome craft ideas, check out The One and Only Marfalfa, written by EPL librarian Martha Dodge! Martha is my go-to for book recommendations 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Charlene Churchill

    I loved Ship Breaker and I also think it would make a good movie!

  2. I found you through a recommendation from Melissa Sweet.

    I have a pet peeve. Books to me are the best, the living end. Why do people think making a book into a movie is great? No movie I’ve ever seen has measured up to the book, except perhaps To Kill a Mockingbird.

Leave a Reply

