WWW Wednesday

Here’s a fun blog feature, hosted by Should be Reading.  It goes like this…

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

Here are my answers:

 

What are you currently reading?

Image from goodreads.com

Image from goodreads.com

I am currently listening to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn while I fold laundry and reading We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler.  Very different books, but both enjoyable in their own ways.

What did you recently finish reading?

Image from:  goodreads.com

Image from: goodreads.com

The Uncoupling by Meg Wolitzer.  Very good book.  I had never read anything by this author before, but her writing reminded me of Tom Perrotta, which is always a good thing.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The_goldfinch_by_donna_tart

I seem to be on an adult fiction kick lately.  I’ve heard amazing things about The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt, so maybe that if I can work it into my schedule once school starts.

I would love to hear your answers to these questions in the comments! 

 

8 Comments

Filed under the joys of reading

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. Ooh, I heard about We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves a couple of weeks ago, via the excellent NPR Books Concierge website (have you used it? It’s great! http://apps.npr.org/best-books-2013/), and I made a note that I want to read it when I have time. It sounds very interesting! Are you enjoying it?

  2. joana

    What are you currently reading?
    I just started Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. It’s my second attempt at it. I read about half of it 2-3 years ago but can’t remember much so I’m starting over again.

    What did you recently finish reading?
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Have you read this one? I’m not sure how I feel about it… What I can say is, it made me feel a lot more respect for people who raise children with autism. Real life super heroes.

    What do you think you’ll read next?
    Buff…. I got a whole shelf of books I own but have yet to read, so I got plenty of options. I think I might get a break from fiction and read Alain de Botton’s Status Anxiety. I’ve read one of his other books before (Architecture of Happiness) and really loved it. It’s not an easy read. Lots of big words there, but it’s so worth it. Have you read any of his books?

    xoxo

    Miss you!

  3. So, I’ll have to admit that I think kid-lit has spoiled me for the grown-up view of our world. Donna Tartt is a powerful writer, but I just didn’t care, didn’t want to read about drugs, drugs, drugs. Just give me a good middle grade or YA novel and I am happy, though I just read The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd and it was great. I had lost faith in her after reading Mermaid Chair, but Invention shipped it right back to me.

    Good luck with your Rutger’s class!

Leave a Reply

