The audio experience

When I was a kid, I would read the same book over and over again.  I would read Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine in late June every year to kick off summer vacation.  Now, I rarely do that, mostly because there are so many good books to read!  About a month ago, I was planning a trip to Southern Maine and I needed a good audiobook.  I had recently listened to Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and had enjoyed the narration by Rebecca Lowman.  I decided to listen to Eleanor and Park (also by Rowell and narrated by Lowman) even though I had already read it last summer.  I was not disappointed.

Somehow, listening to a book (even one I’ve read before) is a completely different experience.  You would think that listening to a book wouldn’t give you the same opportunities to pause and reflect, but somehow I think that hearing the words spoken make me understand them from a different perspective.  Here are two more books that are a treat to listen to:

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

For me, a good audiobook has to have an engaging story and a great narrator.  Do you have any audiobook suggestions?  Please share them in the comments!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The audio experience

  1. I love audio books. Good ones for me have been Astray by Emma Donoghue (Room) and I am An Executioner, both adult books and wonderfully performed.

  2. crobbins

    One of my recent favorites is a collection of short stories by Emma Donoghue (Room), Astray. Wonderfully written and performed.

  3. jessrollerson

    I’ll listen to anything read by Claudia Black! My boys and I listened to Museum of Thieves, City of Lies and Path of Beasts by Lian Tanner. She was Sooo good. She had such a range of character voices! I think I got a little librarian/reader crush on her!

Leave a Reply

