Interview with Jessica Rollerson pt. 1

It’s almost the end of 2013, and like many people, I am considering my resolutions for the new year.  I thought of many specific goals before settling on John Green’s all-purpose acronym DFTBA (Don’t Forget To Be Awesome).  The beauty of this phrase is its versatility.  “Awesome” is extremely subjective, but I think everyone knows when they are being awesome, whatever their definition of the word may be.

What does “awesome” look like to a librarian?  For me, being an awesome librarian means really listening to patrons, finding out what they need, and then finding a way to provide it.  I think it can be easy to get swept up in trying to stay current and we forget that the people who come to us asking for technical assistance also need personal assistance.

Working in a public library can be challenging.  Public librarians interact with everyone from babies to teenagers to retirees.  Creating and maintaining good relationships with a wide variety of people requires excellent people skills.

On my DFTBA quest to be more understanding of patrons’ needs and behaviors, I had the pleasure of talking with an awesome librarian named Jessica Rollerson.  She has studied Behavioral Management, in addition to Library Science, which is a powerful combination.

Here is part 1 of the interview.  The second and third parts will be posted tomorrow and Wednesday.  Speaking of being awesome in 2014, I plan to do a MUCH better job of posting next year.  My goal is three posts a week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday).

Without further ado, let’s get to know Jessica.

Interview with Jessica Rollerson pt. 1

What is your favorite picture book? Why?
Right now it’s I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen. I like the ending where the older kids are certain the bear sat on that no-good rabbit and the younger kids still think it’s a happy ending where the bear got his hat back! The adults can choose their ending and it’s different according to what they need the ending to be! Grown-ups are so weird!

What is your favorite juvenile chapter book? Why?
Oh- The Grimm Legacy By Polly Shulman. I love books that take place in a library and this one is in a repository for things. Everything is catalogued and there is a special collection called the Grimm Collection that has items that are associated with the Grimm Fairytales. It’s really fun!

Cover of "The Book Whisperer: Awakening t...

Cover via Amazon

Where is your favorite spot to read?
I take Donalyn Miller’s (The Book Whisperer) advice and carry at least one book with me wherever I go. But I really love to slink away and get cozy in my bed. My family finds me there all the time with a guilty expression and a book.

What are some of your favorite reading snacks?
Reading snacks? I don’t eat when I read. I’m so focused on the food when I’m eating, there’s no room for books!

Please check back in tomorrow, when Jessica will share her ideas on library programs!

Leave a comment

Filed under library life

Leave a Reply

