The joys (and annoyances) of reading outside

Yesterday was not only the first day of summer, but (at least in my neck of the woods) it was also a perfect summer day.  It was warm with a slight breeze and the sun was still high in the sky when I got home at 5:30 p.m. 

I had some time before dinner, so I grabbed a beach towel, two books and a magazine and some watermelon.  I settled in to read Entertainment Weekly thinking to myself “I wonder why I don’t do this more often…I will have to make time for outside reading this summer.” 

Soon after this thought, I realized why I usually read inside:  the bugs.  Little ones that may or may not bite (I can’t remember) and to many mosquitoes to count.  At first I tried to take the high road and ignore them, but after a few minutes, I was paying more attention to the bugs than my article.

The easy solution would be bug spray, but I hate DEET and have yet to find a natural repellant that’s also effective. 

Does anyone have any suggestions to keep the bugs away so I can read in peace?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The joys (and annoyances) of reading outside

  1. Charlene Churchill

    A screened-in porch?

Leave a Reply

