I love the library because…

It’s seems that every day, I find new ways to end the sentence “I love the library because…”  If I had the time, I would try to write a sonnet, or something, but for now I guess a list will have to do. 

I love the library because…

-…anyone is welcome.  If you can follow the rules and be considerate, you can use the library.

-…everyone is on the same playing field.  At my library, anyone can get a card for free, regardless of where they live.  There is no charge for materials (as long as you get them back on time).

-…it’s a place to learn.  Libraries now are offering classes and workshops to patrons.  Some of the more unusual ones I’ve heard lately are butchering, blacksmithing, and pole dancing!

-…it’s a place to meet new people or connect with friends.  I asked our teen patrons what they liked most about the library and they responded “it’s a cool place to hang out.”  Libraries serve as community meeting places for a myriad of purposes-from study sessions to making Valentines.

-it can grow and change to fit the community’s needs.  Who knows what the community will need from the library in 5, 10, or 20 years??  But I’m sure libraries (in a different form, perhaps) will still be a hub of activity, promoting life-long learning, and bringing people together.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ok, now it’s your turn.  How do you end the sentence “I love the library because…”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I love the library because…

  1. This goes along with your ideas, but one of the reasons I love the library too is that it’s a place where all generations meet.

    Great post!

  2. mary morrow

    You are awesome! Made me think in so many different ways about MY library and the resources it offers. Thanks for that!!

Leave a Reply

