Magazine Spotlight: Mental Floss

Mental Floss is a relatively new edition to the Ellsworth Public Library’s teen magazine collection.  If you love to stun people with random (and sometimes weird) factoids, then this is the magazine for you!  Each issue has a theme (this month’s is “perfection”).

If you need a break, check out their list of “15 Spectacular Libraries in Europe

I think this one is the only one I’ve been to, but I would love to see them all!  Is anyone up for a European Library Vacation??

Which one of these libraries is at the top of your list to visit?  Please let me know in the comments!

6 Comments

Filed under library life, magazine spotlight

6 responses to “Magazine Spotlight: Mental Floss

  1. Hmmm… I remember being there as well! 🙂 And I want to go to the one in the Netherlands!! I also like Alexandria’s library in Egypt, it’s amazing.

  2. I want to visit the Strahov Monastery Library in the Czech Republic – the somewhat “cozy” feel of it appeals to me (maybe cozy isn’t the right word, it’s perhaps too sumptuous for coziness! Maybe intimate is what I meant?)

  3. Sheila Kelly Welch

    Hi! My husband just returned from a trip to Germany and the Czech Republic. He’s a former college librarian, so he came home with pictures of the Strahov Monastery Library and now wants to visit some of the others. We both went to the Trinity Library — love the darkness of that one and the shelves and shelves of books.

  4. This is Sheila’s (above) husband. I have been to the Strahov Monastery Library in Prague (one of the most beautiful cities in the world) twice. The first time was with a group from Bradley University which was privileged to actually get in the library. Most visitors have to be satisfied with glimpses of the incredible rooms from a roped off area just outside the library. The frescoes on the ceilings are incredible. You might want to do a series on the most beautiful bookstores in the world. The winner in my book is the one in Maastricht, Netherlands, remodeled from an old Gothic cathedral. I had wanted to add it to my list for the latest trip, but regretfully did not have enough time as I was hung up in Dresden – another of my favorite cities. See http://www.thecoolhunter.net/architecture/A-Book-Store-Made-in-Heaven/

Leave a Reply

