Why I love being a librarian: heard around the library

Here are a few things I’ve heard recently at the library:

“It smells great in here…it smells like childhood.”

“I’m playing cool math!!!”  (from one very excited young patron, the line was delivered with a huge grin and a double thumbs up 🙂 )

After his mom told him that it was time to look for books (not play games on the computer) one young patron stamped his foot and exclaimed “Awww…I hate books!”  (the librarian in me cringed, but it was still pretty funny).

1 Comment

Filed under why i love being a librarian

One response to “Why I love being a librarian: heard around the library

  1. Haha, the last kid reminds me of the time I volunteered at my local library for their summer reading program. There was a 4-year old girl who really wanted the prizes, but refused to even flip a 10-page picture book for it.

    But yesterday I went to the library and they were having a fascinating “bubble” show and all the kids were ecstatic. And the lady told the kids to brush their teeth because if you don’t, you won’t be able to blow big bubbles. I wish she told them that if you don’t read, you won’t be able to blow bubbles instead…but I guess kids aren’t that naive.

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

Leave a Reply

