48 HBC: Finish Line!!!

Wow!  That was quite the weekend.  To check in at the finish line, click here.  Here are my final numbers:

Over the past 48 hours (starting Friday night at 8:00 p.m. and ending tonight at 8:00 p.m.) I have:

Read for 14 hours and 12 minutes

Listened to an audiobook for 11 hours and 32 minutes

Networked (reading and commenting on other participants’ blogs) for 1 hour and 18 minutes

Blogged for 3 hours and 31 minutes

for a GRAND TOTAL of 30 hours and 33 minutes.

During some of my blogging time, I was writing reviews for the books I finished.  Here is the schedule for those reviews:

Monday, June 11 at 12:oo p.m. :  Bitter in the Mouth

Wednesday, June 13 at 12:00 p.m. : Perfect

Thursday, June 14 at 12:00 p.m. : Keep Holding On

In addition to these books, I also finished Tina’s Mouth and finished listening to The Abstinence Teacher, which brings my book total to 4 print books and 1 audiobook.  During the last hour of the challenge I started Made for You and Me by Caitlin Shetterly (thanks for the recommendation, Cam 🙂 ).  I won’t count it, considering I just just started it, but I love it so far.

I pledged myself 50 cents per hour read and donated $20 to Reading is Fundamental (I rounded up).

This was a great experience and I hope I have time to participate next year!  Thanks again for everyone’s help, especially to you, Mom, for helping my system for keeping track of time spent reading go from this:

 

This is my original system for keeping track of hours (or minutes)…a little crazy to say the least!

 

to this:

 

A much better system! (Note: The circled time here that says total reflects the total at that time, not the final total).

Happy Reading, everyone!  I’m off to have a shower and go to sleep…maybe we should do a sleep-a-thon next weekend, who’s with me? 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under 48 hour book challenge

12 responses to “48 HBC: Finish Line!!!

  1. mary morrow

    So proud of you for following through in such a determined and positive manner—-I KNEW you would break the 30-hour mark!! As to a sleep-a-thon for next weekend—–that always sounds like a good idea to me; that is, until I wake up and see the sun shining brightly, or remember that fun/special thing I wanted to do that particular day—-then I am up and about and ready to live life!!

  2. Yay for you! I’m especially impressed by how well you kept track–I struggle at this…my reading is often so bitty it gets hard.

    • Thanks! I think next year I will create more of a schedule (like, reading for 30 minutes, then listening for 15, then a five minute break, etc) so the minutes don’t drive me crazy! Hope you had fun 🙂

  3. liviania

    Congrats! Your time notes look so neat. And 30+ hours is absolutely amazing.

    I look forward to your Keep Holding On review. (I wasn’t really a fan.)

  4. My system was on index cards that I kept losing. Next year, post-it note. Thanks for joining the 48HBC!

  5. Abby, that is a lot of reading. Did you sleep? I used a BookTime, an android app, to keep track of my reading. It kept track of times and I could add notes about my reading.

  6. Your system looks better than mine… I had a bunch of index cards that I scribbled notes on as I was reading. Hunting them all down and organizing them at the end was a pain in the petunias.

    • My system worked well at first (the memo notebook) until I put the notebook in a bag while I was walking…somehow all the pages detached from the notebook and some were torn up. It all worked out in the end, though. Hope you enjoyed the challenge!

Leave a Reply

