48 HBC Update #1

Sorry for the lack of communication so far in the challenge!  I don’t have the internet at home, but I am now set up for the rest of the challenge in a Katniss-free zone and plan to post updates as well as check in on my fellow readers 🙂

I began the challenge at 8:00 p.m. last night and starting with Keep Holding On, a YA novel about bullying.  (***As a general FYI, I plan to use blogging time to write full reviews of the books I finish to be posted next week***)  I enjoyed the book a lot more than I thought I would and moved on to Bitter in the Mouth, which I am still currently reading.  Around 11:30, I started to nod off and decided to switch books.  Don’t get me wrong, Bitter in the Mouth is really good–too good to muddle through as I fight to stay awake.  I started Perfect by Ellen Hopkins and thankfully the different format and subject matter kept me awake for another half hour.  So, last night I logged a total of 3 hours and 49 minutes.

This morning I woke up at 6:00 a.m. (a rarity for me) and jumped right in with my audiobook selection.  Nina, THANK YOU for suggesting The Abstinence Teacher for my audiobook choice.  I tend to shy away from audiobooks, but this one is fascinating.  While I listened to my book, I spent most of my morning cleaning up the house and taunting Katniss with the laser before packing up and heading to Ellsworth.

So far today I’ve logged a total of 3 hours and 37 minutes of reading/listening (not including the blogging/networking time I’m enjoying right now) bringing the grand total to 7 hours and 26 minutes!  At the beginning of this challenge, I thought that the consecutive hours of reading (and general lack of conversation over the course of two days) would do me in, but now I think the greater challenge is keeping track of the time!

One more thing:  I will pledge 50 cents for every hour I read to Reading is Fundamental (this year’s cause for the 48HBC).  If you would like more info about this great organization, click here to check out their website.

Ok, I’m off to explore the blogs of other obsessive readers!

9 Comments

Filed under 48 hour book challenge

9 responses to “48 HBC Update #1

  1. Glad that you’re enjoying the challenge so far. This is one of my favorite weekends of the year (though it was a lot easier before I had a child).

  2. Deb

    I’ll pledge 50cents for every hour you read,too!

  3. It’s a great idea to have lots of different types of books at the ready for the challenge… I find I have the best success when I mix it up a little bit! And I haven’t tried The Abstinence Teacher on audio, but I’ll definitely add it to my Audible wish list – thanks for the recommendation! Keep up the great reading!

    • I’m addicted to audiobook! I love the narrator’s voice, the story is artfully written, and I feel like I know the characters. Thankfully, I can listen to the entire book (about 11 hours) as much as I want this weekend 🙂

      I enjoy reading your audiobook reviews. Your blog inspired me to open my mind to listening to books.

      Are you listening to a book this weekend?

  4. Pingback: 48 HBC Update #2 | The Lupine Librarian

  5. Pingback: 48 HBC Update #3 | The Lupine Librarian

  6. Pingback: 48 HBC Update #4 | The Lupine Librarian

Leave a Reply

