A Beautiful Day in Bangor, Maine

When people from the Ellsworth area say they’re going to the “big city” they usually mean Bangor.  To most of the world, Bangor (with a population of around 35,000 according to the 2010 census) would hardly qualify as a city, let alone a big one.  But if you’re from Ellsworth (which clocks in at around 8,000) Bangor can provide you with all the joys of urban life.

When visitors ask me they should go for the day, I usually direct them to Mount Desert Island.  The beauty of Bar Harbor and the surrounding towns is known the world over.  However, I should not forget that there are other options for vacation spots in Maine.  If you’re looking for an urban experience, spend a day in Bangor.  Here’s a look at my day in the “big city”:

The Penobscot River

After discovering that I was 20 minutes too early to get breakfast (everything seemed to open at 8) I strolled around downtown and took plenty of pictures.  People probably thought I was a tourist, but I was enjoying the morning, so I didn’t mind much.

Hannibal Hamlin (15th Vice President of the US and Maine native)

 

No squawking seagulls this morning, but I did see these two on the side of a building.

 

Then, it was time for breakfast.  I decided to try Giacomo’s, a breakfast and lunch place known for the painted instructions on how to parallel park in their front window.  It was a response to an amusing parking mishap, which you can read about in this Bangor Daily News article.  Anyway, I have always wanted to go there, but it just never happened.  Until today, when I had what may be the best breakfast sandwich of all time:

A steaming cup of Mighty Leaf tea and a vegan breakfast sandwich. What a great start to my day!

After breakfast I headed over to the Maine Discovery Museum for the Lost in a Graphic Novel workshop presented by the Maine Humanities Council in partnership with Down East Publishing.  Donn Fendler, Lynn Plourde, and Ben Bishop spoke about their experiences adapting Lost on a Mountain in Maine into a graphic novel (Lost Trail).  The event was very informative, and also a lot of fun.  Meeting Donn Fendler was something I never thought I would have the opportunity to do.  He is very down to earth and humble about his experience on Katahdin.  I plan to write more about this workshop in future posts, but for now, I’ll just include this picture:

Lynn Plourde and Donn Fendler signing books after the presentation.

To top it all off, the weather was absolutely perfect for window shopping and gazing at the river.  I definitely plan to spend more time in Bangor this summer!

 

4 Comments

Filed under a day in the life, fun in maine, have you heard about this amazing author?, have you heard about this great book?

4 responses to “A Beautiful Day in Bangor, Maine

  1. Wow, that was an impressive failed parallel park. Bangor looks really pretty, especially in the morning light. Are you planning on doing more posts on Maine? I’m really enjoying them. The vegan food looks so amazing. Are there many vegetarians and vegans in Maine? I’ve had so many problems trying to explain the word ‘vegetarian’ for the last 9 months…

  2. Oh, are you vegetarian? I go between “vegetarian” “vegan” and “flexitarian” but I try to stay vegan as much as possible. Yes, I think there are many non-meat eaters in Maine. There are many little cafes and shops that offer vegetarian cuisine 🙂 Sometimes I think about starting my own vegan restaurant, but then I think about waking up at 2 in the morning to make breakfast breads, and I decide to stick to my day job.

    Thank you-I’m happy that you enjoy learning about Maine. I think I will write more posts about Maine because I want to do more exploring around the state. Even though I’ve lived here my entire life, there are still so many little towns and islands I want to visit.

    Do you have trouble staying on a vegetarian diet in France? I can imagine there is a lot of amazing food to try out (have you ever had creme fresh (no clue how to spell that) on pizza?)

    I am wondering what to do in terms of my mostly vegan diet during my European vacation this summer, but I’m sure something will work out! If you have any vegetarian recipes you’d like to share, I would love to hear suggestions.

  3. Abby, Nice meeting you in person Sat. & fun to VIEW your big city day!

Leave a Reply

