World Book Night

Have you heard about World Book Night?   The program kicked off last year in the UK and tomorrow (April 23rd, 2012) the United States will also participate in this unique program to spread the word about reading.  According to the World Book Night website, book “givers” will distribute free paperback copies of a popular book to adults to encourage people who are reluctant readers or may not make time for reading in their lives.  Of the thirty titles available this year, most are for adults, with a few YA novels (including The Hunger Games) thrown into the mix.

I’ve only read a few of the books on the list for World Book Night (the full list can be found here).  They are:

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers

(I don’t think I’ve finished this one, but I did enjoy the beginning…DE is one of my favorite authors)

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I enjoyed most of these books, and they all gave me a lot to think about.  I can definitely understand why they would be chosen for this celebration of books, literacy, and the joy of reading.  This program makes me think about which books I would choose for someone who doesn’t love to read.  The books would have to be well-written, with an interesting plot and universal themes.  I’ll spend some time thinking about my personal list of 30 books and post it here when I have it finished (and I won’t cheat and use books from the World Book Night list, even though I’m tempted to include The Glass Castle and The Hunger Games!)  Which books would you choose?  Feel free to share your favorites in the comments.  I may include some of the suggestions on my list 🙂

Unfortunately, it’s too late to participate this year, but if you are interested in being a book giver for the 2013 World Book Night, be sure to sign up for their mailing list!  For more information about this program, here’s a great interview from the Time NewsFeed.

3 Comments

Filed under have you heard about this great book?, the hunger games, the joys of reading

3 responses to “World Book Night

  1. I would definitely choose The Hunger Games, partly because I am currently obsessed with it (I know, I know…I sound like a fangirl here!) and partly because I do actually think that it has a lot of important subliminal messages. And there aren’t many pop culture trends out there with that much depth so THG makes a pleasant change.

    • I have a slight obsession with it as well. I enjoyed the book a lot more than I expected to. If only all YA fiction could be so complex!

      Thanks for commenting. I checked out your blog today-nice work!

  2. Pingback: A good book « travellearnlove

Leave a Reply

