Reading Round Up Award Winners 2012

I attended Reading Round Up in Augusta yesterday, and I would like to congratulate the winners of the Lupine Award and the recipient of the Katahdin Award for 2012.

Lupine Award winners:

Small as an Elephant by Jennifer Richard Jacobson

Ballons over Broadway:  the True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade by Melissa Sweet

Lost Trail:  Nine Days Alone in the Wilderness by Donn Fendler and Lynn Plourde; illustrations by Ben Bishop

Sammy in the Sky by Barbara Walsh;  paintings by Jamie Wyeth

I have only read one of these books (Small as an Elephant, my review can be found here) but the rest have been put on my tbr pile.  They all sound like wonderful, well-constructed stories.

This year’s Katahdin Award winner is Phillip Hoose.  This award is given to recognize an author or illustrator’s body of work.  Peter Hoose is the author of The Race to Save the Lord God Bird, Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice, and Hey Little Ant among others.  Peter sang “Hey Little Ant” to finish his speech, and I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t heard the song (or read the book) before.  I loved it!  It definitely has storytime potential, although I don’t know if my version would live up to the one I heard today.

His new book, Moonbird:  A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 will be released in July 2012.

I really enjoyed listening to these authors and illustrators as they gave their acceptance speeches.  Many of them see librarians as the link between the content they create and the child who enjoys it.  I will definitely write more about the day in future posts, but I just wanted to say a quick “congratulations” to this year’s winners!

4 Comments

Filed under library conference, library life, reading round up

4 responses to “Reading Round Up Award Winners 2012

  1. I love Sammy in the Sky. That dog could lick a mean ear.

  2. Annika

    Hi,
    Thank you Abby!
    Annika

  3. Shelley

    I bought and read Small as an Elephant a year ago. When I picked it up in the book store – the author, cover and then inside cover just hooked me – I could not leave the store without it. I absolutely LOVED it! I have used it as a Intro/tease book for the 4th, 5th graders at my school. They have gotten hooked as well and I can hardly keep it on the shelf. Great read for kids and adults alike! thank you Jennifer R. Jacobson!

  4. Pingback: Moonbird sighting in New Jersey | The Lupine Librarian

Leave a Reply

