Preparing for The Hunger Games

In preparation for the theatrical release of The Hunger Games, I have been working my way through The Girl Who Was on Fire:  a collection of essays from YA authors.  Each essay focuses on some aspect of the trilogy.  Some are about the relationships in the book (including the Katniss-Peeta-Gale love triangle), another analyzes the elements of surveillance, and one about the possibility of creating “muttations” in the real world looks especially interesting.  For more information about this particular essay, check out this site.

I’m just starting an essay that talks about the fact that the citizens of Panem are tuning in to watch their children kill each other like it’s a reality show.  I read The Hunger Games a while ago, but I seem to remember that the citizens were required to watch the games…did anyone else get that impression?  For me, if they were required to watch the games, it takes away the implication of schadenfreude.

I like these essays because they give me the opportunity to think about the trilogy without re-reading them.  There are so many different ways to read these books and the essays point to different themes, some of which I hadn’t really considered while reading the books.  At some point, I may want to go back and re-read the trilogy, but for now I’m content with The Girl Who Was on Fire.

Kitty Katniss has also been preparing for The Hunger Games on her indoor jungle gym:

I am very excited to see The Hunger Games tomorrow evening!  Is anyone else planning to see it opening weekend?

2 Comments

Filed under book review, katniss, the hunger games

2 responses to “Preparing for The Hunger Games

  1. Bill Sussman

    I manage a movie theater in Downeast Maine. We are very excited to have all the fans of “The Hunger Games” knocking down our doors!
    P.S. SPOILER ALERT…NEW “BREAKING DAWN” TRAILER B4 “THE H.GAMES”!!!

  2. Pingback: The Hunger Games : My Wife Is Ready « THE ROYCROFT REPORT

Leave a Reply

