Katniss Everdeen: the cat who was on fire

As promised, here are a couple pictures of Katniss (named after Miss Everdeen, of course).  I was reading The Hunger Games when we adopted her, and the name seemed fitting.  By using her full name I can construct little songs, like “Katniss Everdeen, Katniss Everdeen, she’s the cutest little kitty that you ever have seen!”  Of course, these are sung spontaneously when she is actually being the cutest little kitty you ever have seen.  On the other side of the spectrum, calling her “Bratniss” draws attention to how annoying jumping up on the counter for the 50th time is without resorting to harsh name calling.

Part of me wants to adopt two more cats and name them Peeta and Gale and see which one wins her affections, but that’s probably not a good idea.  We also thought about staging a simulation of The Hunger Games in the attic…it wouldn’t be fight to the death, of course, but I’m sure there are many adventures to be had up there.  24 cats in an attic together…who knows what could happen.  It would make for a compelling reality show/YA book franchise/blockbuster for sure.  Katniss does resemble her literary namesake in some ways though.  She is perfecting the art of the sneak attack, and pounces on me every time I turn a corner.  I’m already dreaming up kitty sized hunting boots and a bow and arrow for Halloween.

Here is a picture of Katniss hanging out in her favorite spot- the sink.

And if you didn’t know better, you might think that she literally is “the cat who was on fire.”  I have never seen a cat who loves water this much:

 

(Literary aside, I just got The Girl Who Was on Fire for my birthday, has anyone read it?  It’s a compilation of essays from YA authors weighing in on The Hunger Games trilogy and the general mania surrounding it.  I’ve only just started it, but so far, very interesting.  I will post a review…perhaps essay by essay as I read them.)

Leave a comment

Filed under katniss

Leave a Reply

