YA Book Review: It’s Kind of a Funny Story

It's Kind of a Funny Story

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini gives insight into the world of depression from a 15 year old boy’s perspective.  Craig battles with depression after being accepted to a prestigious (and demanding) high school.  The pressure of living up to external standards is too much and Craig begins to have suicidal thoughts.  This book chronicles Craig’s brief stay in a mental hospital where he gets a break from his “tentacles” (his term for school work, fake friends, and other forces that bring him down) and tries to develop some “anchors” (genuine friendships and a budding interest in art).

Despite the subject matter, this book is not as solemn as it might seem.  Craig narrates his story with  a lot of humor.  I found myself laughing at his take on certain situations even if the situations themselves were grim.  Teens who are coping with depression would appreciate the honest portrayal of a young man trying to rise up above his mental illness.  Even teens who are not familiar with this condition will enjoy the colorful characters and the uplifting moral of the story.

Recommendation:  4.5 out of 5 lupines

I just realized that there is a movie adaptation of this book-can’t wait to see it!  Has anyone read the book and seen the movie?  If so, what did you think?

2 Comments

Filed under YA book review

2 responses to “YA Book Review: It’s Kind of a Funny Story

  1. I know they say “don’t judge a book by it’s cover”, but let’s be honest… I do all the time, literally! Some of the books that I’ve read were picked up without even knowing what there were about and I often find them more entertaining that the ones that I get because it’s either “trendy” or I feel that I should be interested in that subject. This is one of them! Just as soon as I saw the cover I knew I wanted to read it, and after reading your recommendation even more!

    Love your blog, by the way 🙂

  2. Yes, I failed to mention that the cover is incredible. I would love to hear what you think of the book when you get a chance to read it 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

