Legos @ the library

“How long have Legos been around?” someone asked me yesterday at the Legos @ the library program.  I couldn’t give them an answer but I guessed about 60 years.  It turns out, I was way off.  The Lego company has been around since the early 1900’s according to this wikipedia site.

Legos have changed a lot since then, but they are still popular with kids from all age groups.  Legos @ the library meets once a month and all ages are welcome to attend.  Yesterday was our second meeting and we had 16 children in attendance.  Currently, kids are encouraged to bring their own Legos because our collection is not big enough yet to provide Legos for everyone.

It was so much fun to see the kids dive right in and start building.  Legos are so great because they leave room for creativity.  Yes, some of the kits have step-by-step instructions, and some of the kids were using those, but a lot of them just grabbed a handful of Legos and went crazy.

Here are a few of my favorite creations:

This was a dual effort from a brother and sister team.  The spacecraft belongs to aliens and any humans who touch it are immediately electrocuted.  The vehicle has three different components:  the main ship, a smaller ship, and a torpedo.

A Lego builder brought this creation fully formed to the meeting.  I didn’t get a chance to ask many questions about it, but it was the object of admiration for many of the younger attendees.

This is perhaps my favorite.  I started building something, and I turned to a girl and said “I have no idea what I’m doing.”  She shook her head at me, somewhat exasperated, and took over.  It started as a gymnasium and then turned into this:  a raft that can fly!  It was so much fun collaborating with her and creating a story about our vehicle.  Legos may seem like an arbitrary choice for a library program, but I see them not as just a toy, but another outlet for storytelling.

Do you have a Lego program at your library?  I would love to hear about it in the comments.

Leave a comment

Filed under Legos

Leave a Reply

